WHAT IS THE ROMEO AND JULIET CLAUSE?
January 26, 2023
To clarify, this law has nothing to do with banning Shakespeare’s classic tale of Romeo and Juliet. The topic more so concerns the legalities of consent.
For some background knowledge, in 2007 this legislation was enacted. As for Pennsylvania’s standards, the age of consent is 16 according to Mike G Law.
But, interestingly enough, in the state of Florida, 18 is their threshold. Any adult that engages in sexual interactions with a minor can be convicted of statutory rape according to Lawyer Zone.
Similarly, when a person is convicted of violating this law, their name will be added to the sex offender registry. Once this happens it is difficult to find employment when on this list.
Judges also can charge this crime as sexual abuse of children. This would be a first degree and imprisonment of 10 years would follow including a $25,000 fine.
The whole point of these regulations is to prevent sexual assault from happening. As for the United States, the gap of ages for consent usually ranges from 16 to 18 years old.
Ignorance of the law is no excuse. Currently, there are 60,000 kids that have experience sexual abuse in our country according to research from Safe at Last found.
Teens need to understand and take seriously that even though they are minors, you can absolutely be charged as an adult.