February 19, 2021

Everyone has one or two ways that they express their love, and how they like to be loved — these are called the “love languages.” The five love languages are words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, physical touch, and gifts. Read below to discover which love language you and your loved ones relate to, and tips on how to show love to those who identify with each love language.


WORDS OF AFFIRMATION: If your love language is words of affirmation, then you feel most loved and cared for through words. Compliments make you really happy, and you probably like to point out things you like about others fairly frequently. To love someone with this love language, remind them that you love them and that they are important to you, as well as complimenting them especially when they are down. 


QUALITY TIME: If your love language is quality time, then you feel most loved spending time with others. You feel chosen when others make plans with you. To love someone with this love language,  invite them to events (it makes them feel important and needed) or plan something just the two of you.


ACTS OF SERVICE: If your love language is acts of service, you believe actions speak louder than words. Someone telling you they love you is nice but it isn’t proven until they do you a favor or a kind gesture. To love someone with this love language, do small simple gestures frequently, like fixing the hinge on their door that they didn’t ask you to fix, or getting the mail when they’re busy. They feel loved and valued when you go out of your way to do something kind for them.


PHYSICAL TOUCH: If your love language is physical touch, then you feel most loved having physical contact with someone. Whether it’s a hug or a kiss, etc, people who identify with this love language prefer physical expression over any other kind. To love someone with this love language, physically show them you care for them.


GIFTS: If your love language is gifts, then you love receiving presents. Surprise gifts make you feel wanted, and special. To love someone with this love language, buy or make them a gift every so often. It makes them feel important to you, for spending your time and money on them. 


It’s important to know how you and the people you love feel most loved. It helps strengthen your connection! 

Leave a Comment
About the Writer
Ava Lockette is The Director of Social Media and Merchandise on The SIREN. A senior Writing and Publishing Major hailing from Mars PA, Ava has been writing for the newspaper for three years. She’s a co-writer for the pop culture column What’s Poppin’ along with Karsen Thompson and enjoys writing relevant articles concerning current events and pop culture.

THE SIREN • Copyright 2024 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All THE SIREN Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *